…All I want to DO with my life.

These words struck deep.

People who really want to make a difference in the world usually do it, in one way or another. And I’ve noticed something about people who make a difference in the world: They hold the unshakable conviction that individuals are extremely important, that every life matters. They get excited over one smile. They are willing to feed one stomach, educate one mind, and treat one wound. They aren’t determined to revolutionize the world all at once; they’re satisfied with small changes. Over time, though, the small changes add up. Sometimes they even transform cities and nations, and yes, the world.

I found this in a book by one of the most amazing women I have heard of, and one who shares my name. Katie Davis’  book, Kisses from Katie was gifted to me by a certain Grace-woman, and I read the entire thing in a day. The ENTIRE thing. It started quite the thought process.

Individuals. People. One at a time.  On a rightbeforecollegeandweneedtogetgearedup phone call, a friend and I  started talking about goals for life. We’re both young and impetuous. He usually shoves me off cliffs and catches me just in time, and I annoy him mercilessly.

Kate: “Honestly, all I’m good at – is – is… loving people. That’s what I want to DO with my life. LOVE people. Is that lame?”

Person: “To love people well, to live a good life, is a higher purpose and achievement than most people dream of… Many people want to care for their families and be a good person, yes,  but to have it your sole goal to better others above yourself that is the rarer thing.”

And of course he’s right. And my goal for this year is too simply love people. To look at the individual for who they are. To realize that Jesus doesn’t save the clean, he saves the vile, the people with pasts, the peopleonthestreetsmellinglikepot… and I was no better. I AM no better. I’m hiding behind a man with a gash in his side and ripped flesh, which he did for me.

UPDATE: So funny. I had barely penned these words when I realized how much I was being tested. And then I laughed again. I count this a TEST? I am so little.

  • I couldn’t eat. I mean literally had an ulcer and was starving. It’s hard to love when a drink of water has you in the floor in agony.
  • I couldn’t walk. Not without Bob Crutchit, aptly named.
  • I was hated. Literally.
  • An old woman I had repeatedly tried to reach out to turned on me and reviled me to my face. Suck it up, maybe, but it hurt. I’ve tried so hard to love her.

…and the hardest part? I wanted to turn inward. To look at ME, MY hurts, MY wrongs, MY body.

God help me.

I still resolve to love allthepeople. And I resolve that because I am too small to do anything else.

I really mean it. God help me.

One thought on “…All I want to DO with my life.

[your!] 'two cents worth-

